QuTiP: The Quantum Toolbox in Python

 

I’ve been tinkering with it for a while, but I am finally sitting down to write about QuTiP, a great toolbox for doing quantum mechanics in the Python computing language. A couple things came together recently to re-ignite my interest and get me to think about QuTiP again. First was an email and later blog post┬áby Markus Baden about how to set up QuTiP on picloud. The second was the discovery of picloud itself. Last week I was finally starting to dive in to a project to wire up five servers into a mini-cluster and then this week I learn about massively scalable computing in the cloud for mere pennies (picloud.com).

PiCloudI haven’t done a lot with it yet, but I know enough to realize that I’ll have to find another role for these servers. I estimate that keeping them on all year will cost about $800 in electricity (not including the AC to cool them). For that I can have 16,000 core hours of computing power per year. My cluster would only have 20 cores total so I would have to run a full month of computing jobs (800 hours = 33 days). Picloud is such an obvious win that I don’t even have to factor in the time I would spend maintaining my own cluster.

Leave a Reply

