Job Search: he shoots, he scores!

Well you may have noticed a lack of new posts for a few weeks. Chalk it up to me entering the initial thesis-writing phase, combined with job applications, interviews, and the general associated chaos.

The good news, of course, is that the job search process has gone well. After two enjoyable interviews, I have received my first offer (let’s say it’s from from Liberal Arts College A). I’m trying to find out as much as I can from Liberal Arts College B before too long, in order to make the decision as informed as possible. This is the funny gray area that everyone always talks about. I have been leaning towards A, and I’m very excited to have an offer from them… but it a lot of ways it’s like “deal or no deal”… I wonder what is in case B.

The only tangible differences are that I get to teach more optics at A, and the startup is better at A, but the salary is higher at B. A little careful negotiating may remedy the last point, but we’ll have to see.

The most important part is that I feel very welcome at either institution, and I can see myself working in either department. As an added bonus, I’ve received an email from everyone in the department at A saying how excited they are to have me as a potential colleague. It’s a little gesture, but it means a lot in deciding where I will spend the foreseeable future.

2 thoughts on “Job Search: he shoots, he scores!

Leave a Reply

